JASDFW/SMU

Security and Economy: The Current State of Japan-Korea-U.S. Trilateral Relations

Co-presented by the Japan-America Society of Dallas/Fort Worth and the Sun & Star Program on Japan and East Asia at SMU’s Tower Center for Public Policy and International Studies. Japan and the Republic of Korea (South Korea) are two of the most important allies of the United States, although 2020 has presented challenges that are domestic in origin but worldwide in scope. April parliamentary elections in Korea, a contentious U.S. presidential campaign, and an embattled Prime Minister Abe in Japan have created new dynamics in dialogue between these global economic powers. Additionally, the COVID-19 pandemic has demonstrated the necessity of ongoing international communication, collaboration, and cooperation. Alliances will be further tested by Abe’s recent resignation and a new prime minister looking to establish his role in Japan’s government. Join us for an engaging discussion on the realities of present bilateral and trilateral relations, the effects of COVID-19, and what the immediate future may hold for these three countries. Date and Time Tuesday, September 22, 2020 6:00 PM Dallas/7:00 PM Washington D.C. Wednesday, September 23, 2020 8:00 AM Japan Location Online Cost: FREE

Published in News.